*Author’s note: Click on the song title and artist’s name at the end of this post to listen to this song in its entirety and to visit a Web site dedicated to the band.

__________________________________________________________________________________

 

I wish this song had been around way back when I first started learning how to drive. It may have relieved some of the anxiety of taking the driver’s test.

Now that I have my own kids who are just around the corner from driving age, I have a different perspective than I did as I approached driving age myself. I realize that this milestone in life is not just about the driving, but the entire rite of passage from youth to adulthood and all of the associated benefits and responsibilities of driving and impending adulthood.

This song carries on a tradition that has been so prominent in rock and roll and other genres of music over the years – the metaphorical marriage bewtween two of these biggest rites of passage – driving and sexuality.

-B

Come on Dad
Gimme the car tonight
Come on Dad
Gimme the car tonight
I got this girl I wanna….
Come on Dad
Gimme the car

Come on Dad
Gimme the car tonight
I tell you what
I tell you what I’m gonna do
I’m gonna pick her up
I’m gonna get her drunk
i’m gonna make her cry
I’m gonna get her high
I’m gonna make her laugh
I’m gonna make her…shh
Woman, woman, woman
She gotta, I know she’s it

Cuz I’m gonna touch her
All over her body
Gonna touch her
All over her body
Gonna touch her
All over her body
Gonna touch her
All over her body

And she can touch me
All over my body
She can touch me
All over my body
She can touch me
All over my body
She can touch me
All over my body

Time goes by
I can feel myself growing old
Burning inside’s making this boy turn out cold

What’s wrong
What’s right
I don’t care when I hate my life
What’s wrong, What’s right
Y’know people don’t care when they hate their life
But how can I explain personal pain
How can I explain personal pain
How can I explain my voice is in vain
How can I explain the deep down
Driving, driving, driving,
We’re driving, we’re driving, we’re driving

Hey Dad
Speaking of driving
Come on Dad
Gimme the car tonight

So much he don’t understand,
Just might never make it to a man

Come on Dad
Gimme the car
Come on Dad
I ain’t no runt
Come on girl
Gimme your…
Cuz I ain’t had much to live for
I ain’t had much to live for
Y’know I ain’t had much to live for
Y’know I ain’t had much to live for

Gimme the Car, Violent Femmes

I have included some other songs with the metaphorical marriage of the driving and sexuality themes below.

Click on the additional song titles below to hear the songs:

Crash in to Me – Dave Matthews Band
Driving With the Brakes On – Del Amitri
Born to Run – Bruce Springsteen
Little Red Corvette – Prince
Radar Love – Golden Earring
Vehicle – Ides of March
Roll Me Away – Bob Seger and the Silver Bullet Band
Racing in the Street – Bruce Springsteen
Boys of Summer – Don Henley
Slow Ride – Foghat
Paradise By the Dashboard Light – Meatloaf
Wicked Twisted Road – Reckless Kelly
The Road Goes on Forever – Robert Earl Keen
Brand New Car – The Rolling Stones
Motorcycle Drive By – Third Eye Blind

 

If you liked this post, please rate my blog on Humor-Blogs.com.

