Author’s note: Click on the song title and artist’s name at the end of this post to listen to this song in its entirety and to visit a Web site dedicated to the singer.

__________________________________________________________________________________

When I first saw the song title Skinny Love on my Sirius radio display, I thought it was going to be a no fat chicks anthem.  I thought the artist had some guts putting out a song like that regardless of how strongly he felt about the subject.  Then I thought, why don’t I quit thinking about what this song is probably about, based on my preconceived notions, and just listen to it.  Well, I did and I was wrong by a ton. 

This song captures the essence of the emotional fallout one suffers from a relationship gone bad and its ultimate end.  However, it also takes it a step further and expresses how it not only affects that relationship, but more importantly how you never really put it behind you.  Instead, you carry that broken and battered emotional baggage to all of your future relationships and it affects those as well. 

The subtle use of guitar and percussion in this song, stripped down to its bare essentials, take a back seat to the the residual raw emotion and pain that seem to still be coursing through Bon Iver (Justin Vernon’s) veins over this failed relationship.  You feel this as his voice alternates back and forth from a soulful moan to barely contained tormented shouts of rage and you can almost envision him crawling off into a corner and wrenching this song from his broken heart and tortured soul at the moment he realized the relationship was over and could not be salvaged. 

Think of how different things would be if everyone was able to channel their internal pain, hostility, and rage into a creative outlet like music and song.  There would probably be less domestic and workplace violence and many more great songs like Skinny Love, which can’t be a bad thing, even if your internal pain, hostility, and rage, are fueled by your feelings against fat chicks.

by Bob Langham

       

-Come on skinny love just last the year
Pour a little salt we were never here
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Staring at the sink of blood and crushed veneer

I tell my love to wreck it all
Cut out all the ropes and let me fall
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Right in this moment this order’s tall

I told you to be patient
I told you to be fine
I told you to be balanced
I told you to be kind

In the morning I’ll be with you
But it will be a different kind
I’ll be holding all the tickets
And you’ll be owning all the fines

Come on skinny love what happened here?
Suckle on the hope in lite brassiere
My, my, my, my, my, my, my, my
Sullen load is full; so slow on the split

I told you to be patient
I told you to be fine
I told you to be balanced
I told you to be kind
Now all your love is wasted?
Then who the hell was I?
Now I’m breaking at the britches
And at the end of all your lines

Who will love you?
Who will fight?
Who will fall far behind?

Bon Iver,  Skinny Love

If you liked this post, please rate my blog on Humor-Blogs.com.
